The Columbia Police Department employs twenty-one sworn Police Officers.  The department has a Chief of Police and Deputy Chief of Police who oversee day-to-day operations of the department. The department has four patrol squads and three detectives.  The CPD employs an Administrative Assistant as well as two Record Clerks, who play major roles in the police department’s operations.  A few of their job responsibilities are maintaining files, forwarding paperwork to the FBI and Illinois State Police, entering traffic stop data sheets in accordance with state law, digitalizing criminal records, processing departmental invoices and generating monthly statistical documentation. The CPD employs five full-time telecommunicators who staff one of two 911 call centers in Monroe County, which operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  Telecommunicators are responsible for answering calls for service and dispatching all emergency units in the city, fire district, and ambulance district.  During 2022, our communications call center received approximately 13,200 calls for service. 

“The Mission of the Columbia Police Department, in cooperation with our community, is to protect life and property, and enhance the quality of life for all our citizens.”  I encourage you to become involved in our community, look out for your fellow citizens and continue to help make Columbia a safe and wonderful place to live.  Call us at 281-5151 with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Application Packet Required for Lateral Transfer Program and Entry Level Police Officer Candidates

A copy of the required application form for the Board of Police Commissioners can be obtained by contacting the Board directly at